Where do I vote?


First up, if you already know what an electorate is, or if you don't care what an electorate is, then all you need to do is check the map - because electoral boundaries have changed recently. Also, remember state electorates are different to federal electorates.


But YACSA, what is an electorate?

Glad you asked!

An electorate is a geographical area. Kind of like a suburb. Or like Districts from the Hunger Games.

For the South Australian election, there are 47 electorates. For the Federal election, South Australia has  They are divided so each one has roughly the same population of voters.

On election day, each electorate elects someone to represent them in parliament. That representative sits in the 'lower house' (in South Australian Parliament - that's called the 'House of Assembly'). The party, or groups of parties, with the most representatives in the House of Assembly will become the government, and their leader will be the Premier.

So it's kind of like there's 47 mini-battles that happen on election day, and the team with the most wins gets the prize.

Knowing which electorate you're voting in will help you identify who you're actually voting for.


Bonus YACSA tip: 

Voting at a polling booth in your electorate is way, way faster and easier than trying to vote from outside your electorate.

What do you think? Does it make sense? What are your questions, concerns, ideas or opinions?